photo of Debbie Hill

A Little About Me and My Life:

   After graduating from high school, I attended U.C. Davis from 9/75 to 6/79. I received a B.S. in Chemical Engineering with a concentration in Applied Math. I worked as an engineer for Chevron U.S.A. at the Richmond Refinery in Richmond, California from 7/79 until 7/86. My first child was born in 1985 and I chose to become a full-time mother in 1986.

   I returned to U.C. Davis and took upper-division, undergraduate math classes from 9/98 to 6/00 in preparation for graduate school. I completed an M.A. in Mathematics in June of 2001.

   I taught part-time at Sierra College from Fall 2001 until Fall 2004 and part-time at American River College from Spring 2002 until Fall 2004. I have been teaching full-time at Sierra College since Spring 2005. I have taught all levels of math from Pre-Algebra through Differential Equations and also Engineering Statics.

 

I have been married (to the same man) for thirty-nine years. My husband is an accountant and a computer geek.

 

I have two sons, ages 31 and 28. My older son is married to an R.N. and graduated from CSU Sacramento with a degree in Business Administration with a Marketing concentration in May of 2011. He works at Strikes in Rocklin. My younger son is my webmaster and works as a machinist at a local machine shop. He has an AA degree in Computer Science from Sierra College. He is also married.

   Music is my other great love along with math. Until recently, I sang with the worship band at my church most Sundays. Occasionally I play my flute and I also play the piano. For three years, I sang with the Vocal Jazz Ensemble at Sierra College and one semester I took the Jazz Improvisation class. All of my Humanities units at U.C. Davis were music classes (Choir, Orchestra, Early Music Ensemble, Music History and Music Theory). My husband and I currently sing with the Sacramento Mastersingers (go to Mastersingers for concert dates). I can get tickets for you at a special student price if you are interested in attending a concert.

   My husband and I enjoy outdoor activities including hiking, kayaking, bicycling, sailing and snowshoeing. Last summer we tried standup-paddleboarding (SUPing) and loved it!

   Here is a picture of our previous dog, Kita. She was 1/2 Golden Retriever and 1/2 something unknown, but small (Corgi maybe?). She passed away last September and I miss her every day.

 

Kita on the left. Our newly adopted dog, Kaylee, on the right.

 

Kita AdultKaylee